North, South play to a draw

By Staff
The North didn't waste much time answering, however. Facing a third-and-13 situation, quarterback Casey Clark hit Clarksdale teammate Marvin Young over the middle and Young outraced defenders on his way to a 63-yard score that tied it.
Young, the Offensive MVP, caught three passes for 79 yards, accounting for nearly half of his team's 158 yards. Clark was 6-of-7 passing for 110 yards.
The South managed just 114 yards and just 29 on the ground.
Notes and Numbers: Stanford was able to watch three of his former Louisville players in the contest, including linebacker Marquess Ledbetter who racked up five tackles in the game.
Adrian Eiland had a pair of tackles and Louisville teammate Ken Triplett had one. Noxapater quarterback Ryan Smith had one carry for 2 yards but no pass attempts.
Other North all-star representatives from The Meridian Star's coverage area included Noxapater defensive back J.E. Haynes, Noxubee County coach M.C. Miller, Neshoba Central coach Jim Ray, Louisville coach John Mullins and defensive lineman Johnathan Brandy of Noxubee County who was chosen for the game but did not play.
Meridian's Eddie Moss spent most of his night blocking as a tight end for the South team, and also racked up one tackle on special teams.
Wayne County's Cornell Blakley was credited with five solo tackles, while offensive lineman John Williams of Forest was awarded the game ball for selling the most program advertisements.
Jeremy Ruffin of Meridian was announced as the winner of the 2001 Cotton Robertson Award given annually to a member of the Mississippi/Alabama All-Star Classic who exhibits outstanding sportsmanship.
Meridian High assistant Billy King accepted the award for Ruffin, an Ole Miss signee who was not in attendance because of the death of his older brother, Dedric Ruffin.
Rocky Higginbotham is a sports writer for The Meridian Star. E-mail him at