Ad Spot

Excellence in education

By Staff
Sept. 20, 2001
Jones County Junior College sophomore Brittany Sumrall of Laurel is the 2001 recipient of the Marcus "Bud" Moore Scholarship.
The award is presented through the college's foundation. The scholarship was established in memory of Moore, who was a coach for many years at the college.
DECATUR Marilyn Brown and Don Price, both of Meridian, recently attended East Central Community College's annual pre-session workshop for adjunct instructors.
Brown assists in the college's math program. Price assists in government classes.
Faye E. Cross of Ellenwood, Ga., was awarded the "Professionally Recognized Special Educator" certificate for Special Education Teaching. The certificate was presented by the Council for Exceptional Children.
Cross, the daughter of Fredna Cross of Meridian, teaches elementary students with specific learning disabilities, mild intellectual disabilities and emotional-behavioral disorders in the Atlanta public school system.
The designation Cross received is awarded to special educators who have demonstrated that they meet professional standards for practice in their field.
Recipients must have earned professional degrees or endorsements in special education, have at least three years of experience in their area of expertise and follow the Council for Exceptional Children's code of ethics and standards of practice.
Victoria Crockett of Marion took part in a six-week summer program designed to encourage high school students to pursue medical careers in rural areas of the state.
Crockett was one of 18 high school graduates of the class of 2001 who enrolled in the Rural Medical Scholars program. Meridian Community College sponsored Crockett in the program.
Students attended Mississippi State University, taking two pre-med college credit courses, attending lectures for aspiring physicians and observing practicing doctors.
MSU's Extension Service directed the program, which is part of the Rural Health Corps.
LIVINGSTON, Ala. Several Meridian students have earned academic recognition at the University of West Alabama for the summer semester.
Dean A. Reid was named to the President's List. In order to make the President's List, students must have at least a 3.80 grade-point average while taking at least 12 semester hours.
Timothy B. Adcock, Joseph E. Brooks and Brandi L. Howard were named to the Dean's List. In order to make the Dean's List, students must post at least a 3.25 grade-point average while taking at least 12 semester hours.
HATTIESBURG Nine students from Meridian are on the University of Southern Mississippi Dean's List for the 2001 summer semester.
The Dean's List includes full-time students who earned a 3.25-4.0 grade-point average.
Those named to the Dean's List: Angeles Lynn Ballou, Diane Laura Daggett, Monica Renee Davis, Melissa Kay Lauderdale, Reanna Leigh McKissack, Daniel Lane Miles, Camelia Katessa Smith, Cassie Jo Walker and Trina Elberry Wilson.
SCOOBA Two Lauderdale County students were named to the East Mississippi Community College President's and Dean's lists for the 2001 summer semester.
On the President's List is Sonia Denise Martin, a student at the main campus. President's List students must have a grade-point average of 3.6-4.0.
On the Dean's List is LaWanda Marie Burgoyne, a student of the college at Naval Air Station Meridian. Dean's List students must have a grade-point average of 3.2-3.5.