Ad Spot

Excellence in education

By Staff
Oct. 24, 2001
DECATUR The Newton County Elementary School Parent Teacher Organization cleared nearly $5,000 last month during its first fund-raiser of the year.
Students sold flats of Coca-Cola products. Patti Ezell's second grade class was awarded a pizza party for selling the most flats.
Students Dustin Wyatt, Micha McDaniel, Cody Addy, John Corbin Evans and Tevin Campbell received gym bags and Angelica Johnson received a shoulder bag from Coca-Cola for individually selling the most flats.
DECATUR Chris Stokes of Philadelphia is the new technology applications instructor at the Philadelphia/Neshoba County Vocational-Technical Center, a division of East Central Community College.
Stokes has eight years of teaching experience.
He was previously employed at the center as instructor of diversified technology. He also is a former biology and general science instructor for Neshoba County and Choctaw Central schools.
A graduate of Philadelphia High School, Stokes received a bachelor's in biology from Livingston University. He has attended ECCC and Meridian Community College and has completed additional course work.
Stokes is married to the former Pamela Kirkland, a registered nurse and emergency room supervisor at Neshoba General Hospital. They have two children, Will, 8, and Abby, 2.
JACKSON The Millsaps chapter of the Model United Nations is scheduled to host a statewide reception beginning at 6 p.m. today in the Leggett Special Events Center. The reception will commemorate United Nations Day.
Students participating in the Model United Nations are assigned countries to represent at national conferences. The students must become familiar with their country, the U.N. system and the U.N. agenda.
Jaesa McLin Malick of Brandon, a senior at Millsaps and granddaughter of Janet McLin, Meridian public schools superintendent, is president of the Millsaps Model United Nations chapter.
The U.N. charter was enacted on Oct. 24, 1945.
COLUMBUS Hollie Michelle Campe of Collinsville is one of 49 Mississippi University for Women students included to the 2001 edition of "Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges."
Students are inducted in Who's Who based on their academic achievement, service to their community, leadership and extracurricular activities.
The Newton County Elementary Principal's List for the first nine weeks of school includes the following students:
First grade: J.C. Alexander, Jonathan Amis, Lucas Aycox, Tina Bates, Zeakethia Bogan, Kristy Bradley, David Brand, Will Brand, Sarah Carmichael, Symone Chapman, Hunter Collins, Kym Croft, Breanna DeFat'ta, Alex Drew, Katy Ezelle, Joshua Finley, Sarah Freeman, Mackenzie Gannon, Will Gibson, Cheyenne Gressett, Corey Harrison, Delton Harrison, Lacye Harrison, Will Howington, Tia Hudnall, Katherine Jacome-Cluff, Cady Jones, Lee Jones, Jacob Lurk, John Clay Lyles, Shelby Martin, Angela McKinnie, Kasey Miller, Jaquaris Moore, Jonathon Morgan, Jacob Old, Haylee Pace, JaDarrias Patrick, Brittany Plummer, Tyler Spence, Charles Thorne, Clint Tisdale, Courtney Tillman, Milton Tucker, Tiffany Walker, Charles Wansley, Cody Warren, Steven Weir, Desiree West, Haleigh West, Faith Westberry, Alli Whitted, Kirsten Wilkinson, Jacob Williams, Brock Williamson and Radiance Wright.
Second grade: Trevor Ayllon, Keri Bailey, Jordan Benson, Ashley Bozeman, Katie Bradley, Aaron Brown, Marquis Brown, Adam Buckley, Neal Buckley, Parker Bullock, Haley Chapman, Kasey Childress, Emily Davis, Kaitlin Dean, Megan Dillard, Lauren Ezelle, Lindsey Ezelle, Vivek Gosai, Erica Griffin, Ashondra Harris, Amily Jacome-Cluff, Shaye Johnson, Micah McDaniel, Kayla Pace, Tyler Pigg, Marcus Powell, Stephanie Spence, Jayohnnie Slaughter, Madison Stringer, Carly Thomas, Russ Thompson, Will Thompson, Clay Upton, Trest Underwood, Katie Vance, Paige Wall, Jordan Walker, Kyle Walker, Kayla Walton, Paige Weir, Tyler White and Katie Willis.
Third grade: Sandy Alexander, Jon-Marie Baucum, Josh Bradley, Erica Bufkin, Jeremy Carson, Cassie Clearman, Michael Dover, Patience Ethridge, John Corbin Evans, Reneisha Evans, Hannah Farmer, Leighanne Gardner, Julien Gillis, Chelsey Griffin, Claire Griffin, Malori Jones, Missy Manues, Haley McMullan, Brooke Morgan, Anna Morrow, Tiffany Smith, Claire Tadlock, Kelsey Tadlock, Nolan Thorne, Erin Thorton and Savannah Vance.
Fourth grade: Colt Cleveland, Emmalee King and Emily Lucy.
Fifth grade: Brandon Boulton, K.C. Buckley, Spencer Cash, Richie Ferguson, Justin Gates, Justin Griffith, Cole Harris, Haley Huey, Krissy Holmes, Jenny Holyfield, Kala Massey, Jammie Mitchell, Hank Pugh, Brittany Reed, Heather Roberts, Jacob Scoggin, Jessica Thames, Deborah Tumey and Cali Underwood.
Sixth grade: Rachael Addy, Caleb Alexander, Colton Amis, Amanda Blackburn, Lacey Gilmore, Joy Gosai, Dylan Harris, April Hurt, Dylan Nichols, Chelsea Pugh and Kelly Reeves.