Ad Spot

Excellence in Education

By Staff
Five Meridian Community College students have been awarded scholarships sponsored by the Kiwanis Club of Meridian.
The $480 scholarships are presented through The MCC Foundation. The 2001-2002 recipients are Keith Jacoby, Mandy McAlister, Joni Parker, Lesley Singletary and Lindi Smith.
Jacoby is a sophomore in the associate degree Nursing Program at MCC, where he is a member of Phi Theta Kappa. He is a graduate of King's Academy.
McAlister is a freshman studying in the University Transfer Program at MCC. She is a graduate of West Lauderdale High School.
Parker is a freshman attending MCC as an undecided major. She is a graduate of Southeast High School.
Singletary is a freshman in the Graphic Communication Program at MCC. She plans to complete a bachelor's degree in graphic design and open an advertising agency. She is a graduate of West Lauderdale High School.
Smith is a freshman business major at MCC. She is a graduate of Meridian High School.
Newton County resident Jenina Coleman, 21, is using the Madeline Scott Callahan Scholarship to attend Meridian Community College.
The $1,000 scholarship is funded through The MCC Foundation by an endowment established by Dr. Joel Callahan as a memorial.
Coleman is a sophomore who plans to complete her bachelor's degree in medical lab technology at the University of Southern Mississippi.
Tonya L. Moorehead of Meridian is an Elizabeth Welsh Riley scholar at Meridian Community College.
The $1,200 nursing scholarship is funded by an endowment established by Dr. William G. Riley as a memorial through The MCC Foundation.
Moorehead, 24, is studying in the associate degree Nursing Upgrade Program. She is a dean's list scholar and a member of Phi Theta Kappa.
SCOOBA John Reeves of Meridian is a new history instructor at East Mississippi Community College.
Reeves, who taught part time at Meridian Community College for eight years, received his bachelor's degree in history from the University of Mississippi and his master's degree in secondary education-social studies from the University of Alabama.
SCOOBA Robert O. Walker of Meridian is a new forestry technology instructor at East Mississippi Community College.
Walker earned his bachelor's degree in forestry from McNeese State University. He is a registered forester in Mississippi and Alabama.
SCOOBA Susan Cumberland Sleppy of Daleville is a new computer science instructor at East Mississippi Community College.
Sleppy, who taught for nine years at Meridian High School and four years at Meridian Community College, holds bachelor's and master's degrees from Mississippi State University.
JACKSON Will Selman of Meridian has joined Beta Beta Beta honorary at Millsaps College.
The national honor society is for students in biological sciences. Its purpose is to stimulate sound scholarship, promote the dissemination of scientific truth and encourage investigation of the life sciences.
Selman, a junior biology major, also serves as treasurer and community service chairman for Kappa Sigma fraternity. This is also his third year as a pitcher for the Millsaps Majors baseball team.
Selman is the son of Bill and Lynn Selman of Meridian.
RUSTON, La. James Brian Machamer of Meridian was named to the fall quarter president's honor list at Louisiana Tech University.
Students must have at least a 3.8 academic grade point average while enrolled in a minimum of nine semester hours with no grade lower than a B.
DECATUR Newton County High School's football players, band members and cheerleaders who are seniors were given special recognition during their school's last home football game Nov. 2.
Seniors on the football team are Matthew Boggan, Adam Bout, Robby Carey, Richard Croft, Jared Gallaspy, David McConnell, Kevin Peebles and Mark Walker.
Seniors in the band are Pam Addy, Kristal Burton, Jennifer Carson, Allen Davis, Justin Dean, Josh Doyle, Melissa Estes, Jared Gallaspy, Austin Griffin, Luke Howell, Melissa Kimbriel, Ryan Loper, Emily Mayes, Kery McDill, Kellie McGee, Miranda Neese, Vicky Smith, Becky Sorey and Jonathan Walker.
Seniors on the cheerleading squad are Blair Anderson, Kery McDill, Casey Fitzgerald, Kirby Nichols and Mary Lois Thomas.