Ad Spot

Excellence in education

By Staff
Nov. 23, 2001
Erica Cross of Meridian is the recipient of the Dana Griffis Carson Scholarship at Meridian Community College.
The $500 scholarship was given to the college in the name of Carson by the Meridian Child Care Association in honor of Carson's retirement. Carson served with the Mississippi Department of Health for 31 years.
Cross is a freshman at MCC. She is in the Early Child Care Development program and a graduate of Meridian High School.
DECATUR Melissa Tindol of Philadelphia is the new vice president of the Mississippi Association of Student Nurses.
Tindol was selected for the post at the group's annual convention. She is in her second year at East Central Community College, studying for an associate degree in nursing. She is a graduate of D'Iberville High School.
DECATUR Kristie L. Pilgrim of Union is the new surgical technology instructor at East Central Community College.
Pilgrim began her job Nov. 1. Previously she served as a nursing-physician assistant for the Rush Medical Group in Meridian. She also is a former operating room technician for Southern Healthcare Agency Inc. in Jackson and Rush Foundation Hospital in Meridian.
Pilgrim earned an associate's degree in surgical technology from ECCC.
STARKVILLE Eleven classes from the Meridian and Lauderdale County school districts attended the seventh annual Wood Magic Science Fair at the Mississippi Horse Park, Agricenter and Fairgrounds.
About 7,000 third- and fourth-graders from all parts of Mississippi attended the Oct. 15-19 fair hosted by Mississippi State University's College of Forest Resources.
The event was sponsored by forestry and forest products industries. Classes from West Lauderdale Elementary School and Poplar Springs Elementary School attended the fair.
The Wood Magic Science Fair incorporates science, math and the conservation of natural resources to teach students. Some of the highlights of this year's program included demonstrations on how plywood is made and uses of wood in an average person's life.
DECATUR The following area students at East Central Community College were selected as national outstanding campus leaders for the 2002 edition of Who's Who Among Students in American Junior and Community Colleges:
Courtney Graham of Meridian; Khristian Abel, Heather Brantley, Jessica Eakes, Kathy Jones, Trudy King, Caleb May, Wes Rounsaville, Matt Stone and Bonnie Witcher, all of Philadelphia; Molly Addkison, Justin Clark, Candice Cooper, Miranda Faulk, Jonathan McMillin, Hailey Reynolds, Patricia Roberson and Lesley Taylor, all of Louisville; and Melissa Suttle of Noxapater.
Others included: Corey Amis, Ty Anderson, Thomas Clark, Kasey Comans, Matt Davis, Jason Guraedy, Daniel Pearce, Jeremy Stevens and Brent Sutphin, all of Decatur; Becky Anderson of Hickory; Nickie Dean and Jennifer Cuchens, both of Newton; Sommer Averett, Kevin Belk, Glenda Brown, Emily Casey, Claire Edgar and Rebecca Germany, all of Union; Josh Chaney of Little Rock; Thomas Bohl of Quitman; and Brandi Bounds of DeKalb.
Also on the list: Wileen Cooksey, Rebecca Kelly, Shannon Towner and Jenne White, all of Lake; Lynda Killen of Sebastopol; Allison Latham of Forest; Lori Cumberland, Lana Rogers and Jessica McMahan, all of Carthage; Megan Morrison of Edinburg; Leann Eddins of Pachuta; and Stacy Neese of Louin.
Jeremy Litton of Meridian has been named to the Order of Omega and Phi Alpha Theta honoraries at Millsaps College.
The Order of Omega is a national leadership honor society that recognizes student achievement in promoting inter-Greek activities.
Phi Alpha Theta is an international history honor society of students who are elected on the basis of excellence in the study and writing of history.
Litton is a junior majoring in history and is a member of Eta Sigma Phi honorary. He also is a member of Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity, the College Republicans and Interfraternity Council.
Litton plans to attend law school after graduation. He is the son of David and Pam Litton of Meridian.