Ad Spot

EMCC takes top honors
at yearbook competition

By Staff
special to The Star
May 12, 2002
East Mississippi Community College took home the award for best yearbook in the state at the annual Mississippi/Junior Community College Press Association convention and awards banquet held in April.
EMCC also received the following honors: first place for best theme; first place for best photography; first place for best typography; second place for best layout and design; second place for best structure; and honorable mention for best cover.
Two EMCC yearbook students will serve as officers for the 2003 session. Cassie Chance of Blackwater was elected president and Monica Davis of Starkville was elected northern vice president for the Mississippi/Junior Community College Press Association.
During the convention, Chandra Foard of Eupora served as outgoing northern vice president of the association.
Staff members of the winning 2001 yearbook, The Lion, included: Matt Haskins of Starkville, executive editor; Angel Williams of Scooba, head photographer and organizations editor; Derrick Conner of Shuqualak, staff photographer; Chandra Foard of Eupora, people editor; Shevondra Benn of Scooba, staff writer; Tonya Sharp of Columbus, people editor; Mathilde Wilbourne of Scooba, staff writer; and Jennifer Hester of New Hope, sports editor.
Hester was the editor of the 2002 yearbook, which will be released April 30 and will be up for competition in 2003.