Ad Spot

Excellence in education

By Staff
May 17, 2002
DECATUR East Central Community College sophomore Caleb Cook of Hickory placed third overall in the National Association of Teachers' Singing vocal competition held recently at Delta State University.
Cook, a vocal performance major, competed against other sophomore men from universities, four-year colleges and community colleges.
Other East Central students who competed were freshman Damein Wash and sophomore David Thorne, both of Hickory. Both placed in the semi-finals competition. Sophomore Carl Wilson of Newton also competed.
DECATUR The following East Central Community College students received special awards during the annual Awards Day program held May 2 in Huff Auditorium:
Kerri Burks of Philadelphia, Secondary Education Award; Corey Blackwell of Louisville, S. LeBrun Hutchison Engineering Award; Shay Alford of Carthage, Myrtle R. Hutchison Award; Jimmy Hall of Lena, Margaret Mosal Award for Leadership; April McAdory of Philadelphia, Ann H. Burkes Phi Theta Kappa Award; Sharon Burks and Tekeyla Lyles, both of Forest, Tracy Sullivan of Philadelphia, and Crystal Reynolds of Chunky, Mississippi Business Education Association Student Awards; Mary Margaret Irons of Philadelphia, Alyne Simmons Recruitment Grant; Trudy King of Philadelphia, Spanish Award; Sonji Rose of Decatur, Associate Degree Nursing Outstanding Achievement Award; and Sommer Averett of Union, Brandi Bounds of DeKalb and Ty Anderson and Corey Amis, both of Decatur, Walter Arno Vincent Award for Academic Excellence in Athletics.
DECATUR The following East Central Community College students received technical honors during the annual Awards Day program held May 2 in Huff Auditorium:
Josh Baumunk and Benstan Pope, both of Philadelphia, collision repair technology; Aaron Chunn of Philadelphia, automotive technology; Willie Macon of Philadelphia, child development technology; Gary Maisonneuve of Carthage, computer technology; Kevin Pierce of Newton and Kenneth Robinson of Carthage, electrical technology; Kevin Belk of Union, electronic technology; Malthia Jones of Newton, gerontology technology; Adam Foreman of Little Rock, heating and air conditioning technology; Chris Comans of Newton, machine shop technology; Chad Penson of Collinsville, computer network support technology; Mavis Griffin of Conehatta, surgical technology; Chris Bankston of Union, Technical Student of the Year; and Jody Chaney of Little Rock, who received the O.L. Newell Memorial Drafting Award.
DECATUR The following East Central Community College students received vocational honors during the annual Awards Day program held May 2 in Huff Auditorium:
Kimberly Hull of Meridian, cosmetology; Kevin Carter of McCool and Drew Walters of Louin, welding and cutting; Jamie Blackburn of Decatur, licensed practical nursing; Kathy Hogue of Walnut Grove, Vocational Student of the Year; Sharonne Cooper of Louisville and Kenny Gomillion of Morton, cabinetmaking; and Nathan Busby of Walnut Grove, carpentry.
LIVINGSTON, Ala. The University of West Alabama has been named the recipient of a $5,000 technology grant from the Verizon Foundation.
The grant will be used to purchase computers for the Mathematics Computer Laboratory in the College of Natural Science and Mathematics. The computers will give math students greater access to an Internet math course.
The course allows remedial math students to raise their skills to college level as they work at their own pace.
LAKE Lake Elementary School has a new flag and award to display at the school.
Lake Elementary has been identified as a Title I Distinguished School award winner. The school was recognized at a banquet during the International Reading Association conference in San Francisco on April 30.
Bingham Moncrief, Scott County School District superintendent of education, and Cheryl Ferguson, Title I coordinator, accepted the award.