Ad Spot

District One and District Six remain unbeaten

By By Marty Stamper/EMG sports assistant
June 22, 2002
District One joined District Six as the last two remaining unbeaten teams in the State Games baseball tournament with a 6-4 win over District Three Friday night at Meridian Community College's Scaggs Field.
District One got three runs in the top of the first inning and never trailed. Jeffery Rea of Nettleton had an RBI-double in the inning.
Clay Dozier of Itawamba AHS made it 4-0 in the third when he singled and scored on a wild pitch.
Dozier got the fifth run in the top of the fifth as he was hit by a pitch and came home on a two-out double by Hamilton's Jeff Schafer.
Adam Yoe of Amory tripled in the top of the sixth and scored when Patrick Thompson's ground ball was booted for a 6-0 lead.
Brett Boykin of Academy A state champion Deer Creek cut the lead in half in the bottom of the sixth when he hit the only State Games homer to date. The three-run blast to left field also scored Jim Shaw, who had reached on an error, and Blaise King, who had drawn a walk.
Robert Toomey of Pillow Academy scored District Three's final run in the bottom of the seventh as he singled and came home on an infield out by Shaw.
District Four 5
District Two 2
Ackerman's Daniel Stevens allowed only three hits in six innings and Robert Tucker of New Hope retired all three batters he faced in an inning of relief as District Four remained alive with the early afternoon win.Stevens struck out seven and walked three, while Tucker record a pair of whiffs.
District Eight 5
District Seven 3
District Eight scored three runs in the top of the eighth inning to win Friday's opener. The loss eliminated District Seven. Justin Pigott of Class 4A state champion Picayune tossed a complete game to get the win, allowing three runs on seven hits. He struck out five and walked two.