Ad Spot

Williams captures Late Model win at Queen City Speedway

By Staff
From combined reports
July 17, 2003
Cliff Williams made sure there was no doubt who had the best car in the Late Model division at the Queen City Speedway last weekend.
He had the best qualifying time with a 15.129, won the heat race and then claimed the checkered flag in the feature race. Wiley Williams was second and Larry Murphy finished third.
There will be a night of regular racing at the track just South of Meridian on Arundel Road on Saturday. The gates open at 4 p.m. For more information on race day call 485-0201.
Kyle Rutledge, the grandson of former Whynot Race Track owner Clyde Rutledge, won the Pure Street Class feature, followed by Steve Griffin and Mark Welch. Welch won the first heat, while Jeffery Walker took the second. In all, 17 cars competed in this division.
In Mini-Stock action Steve Bryan nudged past Jeremy Quattlebaum with just laps to go to win the feature. Quattlebaum, the winner of the heat race, was second and Billy Ward was third.
Brian Chaney took the Modified feature race, followed by Andy Pippen and Robert Cassada.
The Cruisers heat win went to the Turk-McMullen team, while the feature race went to the Gooden-Parker team.
L.A. Hand/Austin Bishop
Big night for Waltons
at Causeyville Raceway
If your last name was Walton at Causeyville Raceway last Saturday night, you were likely standing in the winners' circle.
Alex Walton took first in the Rookie Purple Restricted division in last weekend's Go-kart action, while Ray Walton finished first in the Rookie Blue Restricted race and Gary Walton was first in the Stock Lite division.
Tyler Burgess was second and Ryan Godwin third in the Rookie Purple Restricted race, while Cody Miller was second and Tyler Smith third in Rookie Blue Restricted.
Finished second in Stock Lite was Bill Moffett, while Mike Palmiter was third.
Zac White finished first in Rookie Restricted Golf, followed by Jeffery Maxwell and Avrie Eaves.
Mike Palmiter won the Stock Medium race, with Rodney Bounds finished second and Anthony Rawson third.
Bounds was first in Stock Heavy, with Scott Williams taking second. Ryan Walters won the Limited, followed by Randy King and Mike Sullins.
The Outlaw division race went to Randy King, with Richard Townsend taking second and Harold Rettburg finishing third. Greg Stevens beat out David Prichett and Wayne Benthall for the 2-Cycle win.
Austin Bishop
Columbus to host
John L. Cliett Tribute
The Columbus Speedway will play host to the 4th Annual John L. Cliett Tribute on Saturday night at 7:30. The gates open at 5 p.m. For more information check the speedway's website at or by call 1-662-241-5004.
The annual event has quickly grown into one of the most prestigious events of the year in the state of Mississippi as have the purse monies to match the growth, while adult grandstand admission prices still remain affordable at only $15. This year's event will see the winner take home $5,000 with the Super Late Models racing 59 laps in honor of John L.'s race car number.
Mike Boland of Cuba, Ala. is the defending champion of the event while Kosciusko's Anthony Rushing took the first two event titles. The format will have Super Late Model Pole Qualifying with the top 12 fastest qualifiers locked into the main event.
The remainder of the 24-car starting field will come from an expected three B-Main events. The slightly different special event format should provide for a thrilling night of racing on the high banked three-tenths' mile Columbus Speedway.
All Columbus Speedway Weekly Racing Series divisions will also be competing Saturday night with division point's leaders heading into Saturday night's show as follows: Super Late Models, Tombo Callahan; Modifieds, Jason Brock; Pro Street, Mike Langford; Street Stock, David Honeycutt; Mini Stock, Mike Minor; and 2-Person Cruisers, Jeremy Glasgow and Buddy Glover.
Jerry Carnathan Jr.