Ad Spot

SEC preps for 2003 football

By By Tony Krausz / assistant sports editor
July 29, 2003
HOOVER, Ala. Southeastern Conference coaches and player representatives will be setting up camp in the Wynfrey Hotel for the next three days, as they talk about the upcoming football season.
The 2003 SEC Football Media Day kicks off to day at 12:45 p.m. with an introductory address from conference commissioner Mike Slive, and the precursor to the SEC season will wrap up on Thursday.
The twelve teams composing the conference that The Sporting News College Football Preview ranked as the nation's top conference will discuss the season in rotating two-hour sessions, with two teams being made available for comment at a time, over the three-day period.
Following Slive's address to the media, Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt, wide receiver George Wilson and linebacker Tony Bua and Tennessee's Phillip Fulmer (head coach), Casey Clausen (quarterback) and Kevin Burnnett (linebacker) will be the first teams on the block at the press conference.
Kentucky head coach Rich Brooks along with wide receiver/return specialist Derek Abney and defensive end Vincent Burns and Vanderbilt's Bobby Johnson (head coach), Jay Cutler (quarterback) and Jovan Haye (defensive end) will cap the first round of press conferences.
Day two will begin with SEC coordinator of football officials Bobby Gaston addressing the media from 8:20 a.m. to 8:40 a.m. Wednesday.
Ole Miss head coach David Cutcliffe accompanied by quarterback Eli Manning and defensive lineman Jesse Mitchell and Florida's Ron Zook (head coach), Keiwan Ratcliff (cornerback/wide receiver) and Max Starks (offensive tackle) will begin the two-rounds of press conferences on the second day from 8:40 a.m. to 10:40 a.m.
Alabama first-year head coach Mike Shula along with tailback Shaud Williams and linebacker Cornelius Wortham will address the media on Wednesday from 10:40 a.m. to 12:40 p.m., following Florida and Ole Miss.
South Carolina's Lou Holtz (head coach), Dunta Robinson (defensive back) and Travelle Wharton (offensive tackle) will also round out the second day of interviews.
Auburn the team selected in The Sporting News College Football Preview, along with Georgia, to win the SEC this season will begin the final day of the conference at 8:30 p.m. to 10:30 p.m. Thursday.
Tigers head coach Tommy Tuberville, quarterback Jason Campbell and outside linebacker Karlos Dansby will represent The Sporting News' preseason No. 1-ranked football team. LSU's Nick Saban (head coach), Chad Lavalais (defensive tackle) and Stephen Peterman (offensive guard) will discuss the other Tigers' team in the same morning time slote.
Mississippi State University head football coach Jackie Sherrill, wide receiver Justin Jenkins and linebacker T.J. Mawhinney will concluded the SEC media in the final interview slot from 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., along with Georgia head coach Mark Richt, defensive end David Pollack and tight end Ben Watson.