Ad Spot

Myers named Junior Miss

By Staff
MISSISSIPPI'S JUNIOR MISS 2004Mississippi's Junior Miss 2003 Beth Finch places the winner's medallion around this year's honoree Christina Myers of Madison County on Saturday night at the Temple Theatre in Meridian. Myers will represent the state in the America's Junior Miss competition in Mobile next year. Photo by Kyle Carter / The Meridian Star
By Penny Randall / staff writer
August 3, 2003
Christina Myers is following in the footsteps of Miss Mississippi Allison Kellogg.
Just like Kellogg, who was Madison County's and Mississippi's Junior Miss 1999, Myers was named Mississippi's Junior Miss 2004 before a sold out crowd Saturday night at Meridian's Temple Theatre.
Kellogg was the evening's special guest entertainer Saturday. She performed a lyrical dance routine and then spoke on stage with state Sen. Terry Burton of Newton, the program's master of ceremonies.
Myers, who impressed judges in poise and talent categories, received the Brainstorm Creative Group Overall Talent Award and MJM Scholarship Foundation Poise Award.
Myers was named Mississippi's Junior Miss at about 9:45 p.m.; she immediately was surrounded by the 37 other contestants, who offered hugs and congratulations on the Temple Theatre stage.
Dressed in a formal white gown, Myers was gracious in her acceptance of $5,000 in scholarships and other prizes including a gold Junior Miss Medallion.
Myers, 17, is the daughter of Bobbie Jo and Brad Myers of Ridgeland. She sang "Don't Rain on My Parade" from "Funny Girl" in the talent competition; she wants to pursue a career in the performing arts.
First alternate was Kenzie Keaster of Petal who won three preliminary awards Friday night. Second alternate was Anna Tadlock of Rankin County and third alternate was Rebekah Crosby of Forrest County.
The Medical Store Overall Fitness Award went to Meridian's Jessica Curry, who earned preliminary awards in talent and scholastic.
The Bo Russell Memorial Overall Scholastic Award and the "Be Your Best Self" Essay Award went to Jones County's Rebekah Staples.
The Has-Been Association Spirit Award went to Marion County's Blair Livingston.
The top 10 finalists and special award winners will share more than $20,000 in scholarship money.
As Mississippi's Junior Miss 2004, Myers will represent the state at America's Junior Miss program in Mobile next year.