Ad Spot

Excellence in Education

By Staff
Aug. 7, 2003
Amye Melissa Faulkner of Meridian is participating in the Cooperative Education Program at Mississippi State University.
As a major in the area of Computer Science, Faulkner is working toward a degree and, at the same time, is a co-op student on alternating semesters in New Orleans with SAIC-New Orleans.
Cooperative Education is a five-year educational program which allows students in the fields of accountancy, architecture, agriculture and life sciences, arts and sciences, business and industry, education, engineering and forestry to affiliate with businesses, industries or governmental entities while enrolled at Mississippi State University.
Nancy Chisolm, a counselor at Ross Collins Career and Technical Center, attended a leadership conference of the Mississippi Counseling Association in Gulfport.
The theme was "The Professional Counselor." The July 9-11 conference was held to establish goals and receive training for the 2003-2004 year. Activities were designed to enhance the professional knowledge base of members who attended.
Chisolm is president of the Mid-Eastern Counseling Association. During the conference, Mid-Eastern received several recognitions for Counselor Agency and Counseling Service projects.
The Mississippi Counseling Association represents more 1,000 professional counselors in the state and is an affiliate of the American Counseling Association.
Kristina Weil, daughter of Carl and Tina Weil of Meridian, has been selected as a finalist in the Pre-Teen Mississippi Scholarship and Recognition Program to be held Aug. 1-3 at the Ramada Inn in Tupelo. Pre-Teen Mississippi will award more than $5,000 in educational bonds, prizes and awards.
Ben Duke of Meridian has received a $1,000 award from the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium's scholarship committee. More than 500 students applied for scholarships in 2003, with 181 receiving an award. Duke is a 2003 graduate of Meridian High School.
Scholarships are available to students in two-year technical college programs and vocational schools, and four-year college programs.
To be eligible for a GAAS scholarship, applicants must be enrolled full-time in a college-level program or National Automotive Technician Education Foundation-accredited automotive program.
Mississippi State University announces its 2003 summer graduates. Degree recipients from this area are:
Jeffrey M. Allen, Quitman; Penny R. Bates, Philadelphia; Marion P. Boler, Philadelphia; Tina M. Bracken, Meridian; Keisha L. Brown, Meridian; Amanda H. Chaney, Philadelphia; George R. Clark, Collinsville; Kristen M. Clark, Preston; Casy C. Clarke, Meridian; Corey Cleveland, Decatur; Leroy Coleman, Decatur; Stacie D. Collins, Philadelphia; Casey J. Covington, Enterprise; Abby D. Crane, Meridian; Timothy A. Crenshaw, Meridian;
Jennifer M. Dorris, Philadelphia; Thomas R. Duncan, Meridian; Jennifer D. Eubanks, Philadelphia; Amanda L. Gabriel, Meridian; Jason B. Gentry, Philadelphia; Heather M. Gillis, Meridian; Flora J. Goss, Meridian; Jaclynn A. Grant, Meridian; Joseph B. Gray, Meridian;
Monica L. Hayes, Quitman; Kelly M. Hollingsworth, Decatur; Jennifer Hollis, Meridian; James A. Holloman, Quitman; Elesha M. Hopkins, Meridian; Dennis E. Huggins, Meridian; Tommy E. Hurtt, DeKalb; Cynthia A. Ivy, Scooba; Sylvia L. Johnson, Conehatta; Markey E. Joiner, Meridian; Delnita R. Jones, Philadelphia; Gregory Kilpatrick, Meridian; Jennifer N. Lagrone, Toomsuba; Karen D. Lovorn, Noxapater;
Christopher B. Mattox, Collinsville; Gloria Y. Mayatt, Bailey; Murvis D. McCollum; Cornice McGee; Jerimiah W. Mikell, Meridian; Megan E. Miller, Quitman; Karen M. Muirhead, Meridian; Donald K. Nance, Philadelphia; Kristen, M. Neal, Meridian; Mary G. Newell, DeKalb;
Kimberly A. Ramsey, Lauderdale; Shevita J. Ramsey, Scooba; Bradley H. Ray, Meridian; Dana L. Robbins, Meridian; Kevin D. Ryals, Philadelphia; Robert W. Savell, Lake; Summer N. Steil, Meridian; Rebecca B. Stokes, Meridian; Evelyn J. Temple, Meridian; Vickie L. Terrell, Union; Mae N. Thornton, Decatur; Ronnie G. Thrash, Newton; Khalilah S. Walker, Meridian; Barbara Weir, Newton; Deborah J. Wells, Philadelphia; Lesley A. Williamson, Little Rock; and Christine R. Wright, Meridian.