Ad Spot

Excellence in education

By Staff
Oct. 16, 2003
Six Meridian Community College students have been selected to receive $1,000 scholarships, which are funded through the MCC Foundation by Frank Charles Winstead of Magnolia, Texas.
These awards were established to honor people who made a significant impact on Winstead during his formative years. An MCC alumnus, Winstead travels the world as the "Advocate for Excellence in America's Classrooms."
Jammie Lynette Mason is the Reva Breckenridge Science Scholarship recipient. She is a 2003 honor graduate of Union High School, where she was a member of the Beta Club. Her field of study is elementary education and her goal is to achieve a master's degree.
Jared Doner of Bailey is the recipient of the Eli Pacetti Instrumental Music Scholarship. A 2002 highest honors graduate of West Lauderdale High School, he was selected for Who's Who Among America's High School Students and the state Honor Choir. Doner is a member of Phi Theta Kappa, the international scholastic society for two-year college students. He plans to pursue a degree in musical composition.
The Marguerite Jenkins English Scholarship recipient is Rachel Ann Wilson of Lucedale. A 2002 graduate of George County High School, she was a member of the Interact Club and played varsity soccer. At MCC, Wilson is on the women's soccer team and serves as a student recruiter. Her career goal is to become a lawyer.
Leanna McLaughlin, a 2002 graduate of Meridian High School, has been named the Jack Shank Scholar. She is captain of the MCC Scholars Bowl team and the reporter for Phi Theta Kappa. Leanna was selected Miss MCC 2003. She is studying history.
Leslie Maria Downing has been selected to receive the Mary Ann Bonney Riley Scholarship. She is a 2002 graduate of Northeast Lauderdale High School, where she was a member of the National Honor Society and was named Miss Northeast. Downing is a member of Phi Theta Kappa, an instructor for College For Kids and is on the MCC cheerleading squad. She plans to pursue a career in education.
The Maude Reid History Scholarship recipient is Matthew K. Rushing. A 2002 superintendent's list graduate of Southeast Lauderdale High School, he was a member of the math and science team, the Beta club and Students Against Drunk Driving. At MCC, Rushing is a member of Phi Theta Kappa and the Baptist Student Union. He plans to complete his master's degree in history with the goal of teaching and doing research.