Ad Spot

Students ready for 2004 Collegiate Art Competition

By Staff
special to The Star
March 7, 2004
The future is coming.
The Mississippi Collegiate Art Competition, the annual event that recognizes artistic achievement by students at four-year colleges and universities in Mississippi, is coming to the Meridian Museum of Art.
The awards reception will be at the museum
from 2 p.m.-4 p.m. March 20; awards will be announced at 2:30 p.m. Juror Glen F. Kaufman, University of Georgia professor of art, will announce the winners.
Awards will include Best of Show, three Awards of Excellence, and Juror's Awards in each media category of clay arts, computer imaging, design, drawing, fiber arts, metal arts, mixed media, painting, photography, printmaking and sculpture.
The exhibit features 80 works chosen by Kaufman from among 640 entries. The works were submitted for the competition by students representing nine schools from across the state.
To be eligible, participants must be four-year college and university students (undergraduate and graduate) currently enrolled in a degree-granting program in Mississippi.
Students are not required to be art majors. All submitted work must be created during the student's time of enrollment at the submitting school.
The 2004 Mississippi Collegiate Art Competition will remain on exhibit through April 17.
The Meridian Museum of Art is at 628 25th Ave. and is open Tuesday-Sunday from 1 p.m.-5 p.m. Admission is free. For more information, call 693-1501 or send e-mail to
The 80 artists and the schools they represent with work in this year's 2004 Collegiate Art
Competition include:
Mississippi College
Chelsea Sekanic
Allison Storey
Millsaps College
Holly Jacks
Edward McLaurin
Walter Young
University of Southern
Christian Bailey
Douglas Barnet Barton
Peggy Brady
Andy Jessup
Mississippi State University
Faith Carr
Josh Hailey
Edward Johnson
Brad Luke
Josh Russell
Mississippi University
for Women
Faye Asadi
Kathie Baeuerlin
Diana Bliss
Lee Kathryn Brislin
Rebecca Duncan
ML Dunser
Sarah Flynn
Amelia Green
Elizabeth Holman
Jeanette Katgan
Jeanette Latham
Jessica A. Linquist
Sarah Oswalt
Joel Pettit
Melissa Riddle
Ruth Romanowski
Erik Studdard
Marianna Williamson
William Carey College
on the Coast
Lindsay Apostolopoulos
Jessica Ducote
Laurie Gaethe
Elisha Gold
Jeanine Phifer Howell
Elizabeth Owen
Scott Stansell
Ginger Williams
Jackson State University
Jonathan Adams
Wendell Crawford
Alexandry Douyon
Jermaine Hatten
Marcus Johnson
Terrence Welss
Delta State University
Sarah Baggett
Cat Bishop
Chris Bowron
Annette Burkman
Andria Krutz
Edward Lance
Sylvia LeDoux
Audrey L. Morehead
Keisha Pegues
Sissi Robinson
Reeves Smith
Cynthia S. Upshur
Tara Wilson
University of Mississippi
Amy Abraham
Jason Baldwin
Jonathan Barnes
Eric Beavers
Andrew Blanchard
Christopher Brady
Charlie Buckley
Ashley Chavis
Mike Ford
Rebecca Geary
Kendrick Greer
David Harrison
Keegan Love
Kimberly Noll
Tricia Parker-Hipp
Clayton Pollard
James Price
Marti Sanders
Kelley Sharp
Forsyth Tynes
Zita White