Ad Spot

Walters beats out Reynolds for Late Model win at QCS

By By Steve Swogetinsky / special to The Star
April 6, 2004
Randy Walters of Laurel held off the challenge of Herman Reynolds to capture the checkered flag in the Late Model Division race at the Queen City Speedway on Saturday night.
Chad Thrash, who won his first Late Model pole in the time trials, had his IC car turn over after he hit the guardrail and was out of the race after the third lap. Thrash was unharmed, but the car was finished for the night.
Walters came in second, while Jimbo McDuffie, who had his car turned around before the finish of the first lap, came back to finish third. There were four yellow flags in the 25-lap race.
Interestingly, Reynolds, who is also from Laurel, keeps his car in Walters' garage.
The other racing divisions finished as follows:
Modified Division: Brian Chaney took the lead on the first lap and never trailed in the Modified Division. Woody Shivers, who won the pole, placed second Brian Quinn came in third. There were four yellow flags in the race, including a pretty hard collision that sent the No. 2 car of Rusty Harrison and the K1 car of Randy King to the pits with damage.
Pure Street: Jason Boleware led all the way to win the checkered flag. Kyle Rutledge came in second, followed by Jody Walters. There were three yellow flags in the race.
Mini Street Division: Steve Bryan was a double winner in the Mini Street Division as he won the feature race and the heat race. Bryan never trailed in the feature race as he was closely followed by second place finisher Billy Ward and Barry Dearing, who came in third. There were no yellow flags in this 12-lap race.
Late Stock Models: Only three cars made it to the finals of this division with Brock Busbea placing first in both the heat race and the feature race. Marty Long came in second and Frank Mazingo came in third. There were no yellow flags in the feature race.
Crusier Class Division: And then there was one. The Cruiser Class Division started out with eight cars in the heat race. But only six were left before the start of the feature race, and by the third lap, they were down to two, the X2 car of Chris Fortenberry and Tristan Rowell, and the No. 7 car of Kevin Pearce and Jason Davenport. The No. 7 team apparently became disgruntled because their teammates in the No. 6 car were black flagged for rough driving, and left the track. Fortenberry and Rowell were declared the winners and given the yellow flag. The races were over about 10:30 p.m.
Racing continues next Saturday night at the Queen City Speedway. The drivers meeting starts at 6:30 p.m. and time trials get under way at 7 p.m.