Ad Spot

MACJC All-Star game Saturday

By By Marty Stamper / EMG sports assistant
April 8, 2004
Ten area junior college basketball players will be taking part in the annual MACJC All-Star Basketball Games Saturday at Choctaw Central High School.
Representing the Region 23 champion Lady Warriors of East Central in the women's contest are Rita Birden, Lenore Gray and Kimyatta Viverette. They will play for the South team. Other area members of the South women's squad are Sharon Pendarvis of Jones and Stephanie Mosley of Meridian.
Other members of the South women's team are Victoria Richardson of Copiah-Lincoln, JoAnna Williams and Angell Lidell both of Gulf Coast, LaTonya Thomas of Hinds, Monique Dale and Kiera Tillman both of Pearl River and Dwanna Addison of Southwest.
Coaches for the South women are Brad Hodge (head) and LaCole Brooks (assistant) of East Central.
The coach of the North women's team is Dale Peay of East Mississippi. On his roster are Akiesta Cox of Coahoma, Mary Timms and Megan Colona both of Holmes, Tiffany Gorth and Michelle Freeman both of Itawamba, Lawanda Stewart and Kiona Williams both of Delta, Marquetia Thomas, Amber Hughes and Staranna Frazier all of Northeast and Marquita Barksdale and T'Anna Brown both of Northwest.
Tip-off for the women's game is set for 1 p.m. with men's action getting under way at 3 p.m.
Area members of the South men's team are Jamaal Martin of East Central, Tim Brumfield and John Grey both of Jones and Willie Powers of Meridian.
Other members of the South men's team include Jeremy Richardson of Copiah-Lincoln, Tommy Biggoms of Gulf Coast, Donald Jones, Jesse Taylor, and Adrian Harper all of Hinds, Ray Salvage and Carlos Cole both of Pearl River and Nic Gamble of Southwest.
South coaches are Bill Smith (head) and Kevin McGhee (assistant) of East Central.
Area representatives on the North men's roster are Joseph Collins of East Mississippi with EMCC's Clay Armstrong serving as coach.
Other members of the North men's team are Cedric Thomas of Coahoma, Korey Moore and Amarette Plunkett both of Holmes, Brian Rucker and Jerrell Vinson both of Itawamba, Kedrick Johnson of Delta, Patrick Veal and Chris Logan both of Northeast and Anthony Shaw, Jonathan Loe, and Rory Green all of Northwest.
Sponsors are the Pearl River Resort, Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians, Pepsi, Mississippi Sports Medicine and East Central Community College.