Ad Spot

McDuffie likes all kinds of engines

By By Steve Swogetinsky / special to the Star
April 9, 2004
Jimbo McDuffie may be around engines all of the time, but he never gets tired of listening to the motors run.
McDuffie runs the garage for the Lauderdale County School District bus fleet and it's his job to keep those big yellow buses running safely. But on Saturday night, McDuffie listens to a different kind of engine when he gets behind the wheel of his 760 Late Model stock car.
"Yeah, I love working on all types of engines," said McDuffie, who lives in the Clarkdale area. "It gets aggravating sometimes, but it's fun. And it's something I enough doing."
Aggravating and fun is a pretty good way to describe McDuffie's 2004 Late Model season. He started off on a good note as he won the first race in the Mississippi Championship Challenge Series, which was held in Long Beach. But the next race, which was held at the Queen City Speedway, he was involved in a wreck before the first lap was finished. He fixed his car and got back on the track to finish 18th, but the bad luck didn't end there.
Two Saturday nights ago, while trying to warm his tires up by swerving in and out on the parade lap, McDuffie's car dropped its drive shaft which quickly ended his night. So, in three races, he went from frontrunner to being out of the top 10.
"The car has come off the trailer in good shape," McDuffie said. "We have had a top 5 car. But then something happens and we are out of the race. In the first race, we were lucky. Then in the next two, we were unlucky. I just can't figure it out, but we will keep on trying."
McDuffie finished third in Saturday's Late Model Division at the Queen City Speedway. He said he was staying in the Mississippi Championship Challenge Series for now, but would probably drop out if his luck doesn't change soon.
A regular slate of races is set for the Queen City Speedway this Saturday night. The drivers' meeting will be at 6:30 p.m. and the time trials get underway at 7. The races have been over before 10:30 p.m. for the past two weekends.
Series back in action in Jackson Saturday night
The 2004 Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series will hold its fourth series race at the Jackson Motor Speedway located in Byram. According to internet reports, this will be the season opener for Jackson Motor Speedway with the main event of the evening being the MSCCS Super Late Models vying for $2,500.
Defending champion Scott Slay of Clinton leads the series point standings, with. Rodney Wing of Meridian in second and Terry's Dennis Duncan in third.
Jackson Motor Speedway is located south of Jackson on I-55. Take exit 85, then go 0.7 mile east on Siwel Road to Old Byram Road, then 0.4 miles north, then east. Pit gates will open at 3 pm. Action is targeted to begin at 7 p.m. Jackson Motor Speedway information can be found at or by calling the track on raceday at 601-373-0076.
For more information about the series, visit the MSCCS website at or call Charles Thrash at 601-917-2335 days or 601-482-5251 evenings.
The MSCCS Top 10 in points are as follows: 1. Scott Slay 360; 2. Rodney Wing 320; 3. Dennis Duncan 305; 4. David Breazeale 300; 5. Chris Wall®-295; 6. Anthony Rushing 270; 7. Phillip Cooper 250; 8. Jason Cliburn 245; 9.Jimmy Cliburn 240; 10. Keith Miller 225.
We want your news
The weekly notes package is dedicated to covering motorsports racing in all forms, be it cars, motorcycles boats, planes anything with motors. If you participate in motorsports and have some news to contribute, call Steve Swogetinsky at 776-6102. You can also send an e-mail to
Night races begin April 17 at Causeyville Raceway
There will be no go-kart races this weekend at the Causeyville Raceway. Points racing will begin Saturday, April 17.
McDowell wins big race at Columbus Speedway
Dale McDowell won the 12th James King Memorial race at the Columbus Speedway last weekend.
With $12,000 on the line and the Mississippi Championship Challenge Series taking the weekend off, some of the top Late Model drivers from around the state were competing for the prize money and the first place trophy, including local drivers Mike Boland and James Dean.
The final racing stands are as follows: 1. Dale McDowell; 2. Don O'Neal; 3rd. Earl Pearson Jr.; 4. Billy Moyer; 5. Scott Bloomquest; 6 Ray Cook; 7. Anthony Rushing; 8. Wendell Wallace; 9. Mike Boland; 10. Duke Whiseant; 11. Frank Ingram; 12. Mark Stokes; 13. Dan Schlieper; 14. Freddy Smith; 15. Matt Miller; 16. Scott Shepherd; 17. Steve Russell; 18. Jerry Inmon; 19. James Cline; 20. Garrett Durrett; 21. James Dean; 22. Randle Chupp; 23. Terrance Nowell; 24. Ronnie Lee Hollingsworth.