Ad Spot

RHS, RMS host awards nights

By Ashley Cummins for the FCT


Russellville High School hosted its annual awards ceremony for graduating seniors on Thursday May 5.  At the beginning of the ceremony time was taken to recognize the city officials, Russellville City School Board, parents, grandparents, great grandparents and siblings present. Seniors, staff and administrators all showed their appreciation and thanked those who have pushed them to strive for excellence throughout their academic careers.


Jodie Michelle Morrow and Luke Bryant Barnwell
Jodie Michelle Morrow and Luke Bryant Barnwell


Guidance counselor Tiffany Warhurst awarded several of the scholarships and announced that the graduating class of 2016 broke a school record. “The senior class has earned a record of $2.4 million in scholarships this year. That’s the most we have ever had, and there are more to come.”


Madeline Elizabeth Cooper and Emitt Joshua Green
Madeline Elizabeth Cooper and Emitt Joshua Green

Several awards were presented throughout the night. Scholarships for academics, fine arts, athletics, memorials and other miscellaneous were given over the span of three hours. Dr. Tim Guinn said, “This is the first time a senior class has been awarded this much in scholarships. The class of 2016 has truly been an exceptional class, and I will miss them all.”


Just a few of the awards presented included:

  • Bob Grissom Masonic Memorial Scholarship: Kyle Bolton, Will Bolton, Niles Butts, Levi Hargett, Jessica McSpadden and Ashleigh Morgan
  • Cattlemen’s Association Scholarships: Austin Bohannon, Kyle Bolton, Will Bolton, Megan Brockway, Andrew Guinn, Holly Hargett, Porter James, Hannah Keller, Austin Kitterman, Hanna Malone, Grace Mitchell, Hayden Suddith and Maggie Williams
  • Franklin County Chamber of Commerce Scholarships: Hannah Keller (Jim Webb Memorial), Ana Karen Lara Cruz (Matt Hester Memorial) and Harley Thomas (Junior Leadership)
  • Chucky Mullins Memorial Scholarship: Megan Brockway, Levi Hargett, Devin Jones, Hannah Keller and Austin Kitterman
  • Russellville City Schools Foundation Scholarship: Hannah Keller, Cameron DeArman, Hayden Suddith and Megan Brockway
  • There’s a Way: Austin Bennett, Michael Ann Blackburn, Niles Butts, Emili Crummie, Andrew Guinn, Hannah Keller, Austin Kitterman, Jill Masterson, Grace Mitchell, Allison Standridge, Hayden Suddith, Harley Thomas and Maggie Williams


Several prestigious awards were given throughout the night, but perhaps the most prestigious were the awards for salutatorian (Sierra Eady) and valedictorian (Bernie Moussad).


One of the night’s big winners, Harley Thomas, received six scholarships totaling $14,300. “Attending RHS gave me various opportunities to advance my education. Advanced placement classes really helped me understand the curriculum I will face in college,” Thomas said. “I believe I owe my success to the people who surround my everyday life. My parents, for one, are huge supporters and encourage me to try my best in everything I do. My faith in the Lord is the thing that keeps me afloat.”


Harley will be majoring in pediatric nursing this fall at the University of Alabama.


Russellville Middle School also recognized scores of standout students at its awards day in May, of which the following are just a sampling:

  • Sixth Grade Most Outstanding Student: Madeline Elizabeth Cooper and Emitt Joshua Green
  • Seventh Grade Most Outstanding Student: Jodie Michelle Morrow and Luke Bryant Barnwell
  • Eighth Grade Most Outstanding Student: Madison Leigh Murray and Jacob Nathaniel Fleming
  • President’s Award for Educational Excellence: Monica Jasmin Acosta, Tristen Grace Bickerstaff, Carley Madison Briles, Simon Jason Colburn, Jacob Arley Davis, Elijah Lee Franks, Brian Carlos Gonzalez, Mila Talynn Hall, Deshayla Te’On Hammoc, Haley H. Hasha, Ethan Michael Howard, Madyson Grace King, Yohalani Mojica, Melvin Enrique Moreno, Maxim Rizk Moussad, John Blake Murray, Madison Leigh Murray, Makala Kathyrn O’Neal, Maggie Elisabeth Pinkard, Ashton Farris Poe, River Grace Pounders, Sydney Beyonce Smith, Morgan Ellyse Strickland, Brooklyn Jaide Tompkin and Kaitlyn Morgan Wood
  • Tim Bowling Achievement Award: Matthew Connor Williams