Ad Spot

Boys golf team advances to state

The Russellville High School boys’ and girls’ golf teams participated in sub-state play, with the boys’ team advancing to state while the season came to an end for the girls.

Russellville’s boys’ team took second place at sub-state May 6 at Eagle’s Nest Golf Course in Guntersville. RHS shot 295 as a team, and Guntersville finished with a 292 to also advance to the state competition.

Eric Boutwell of Russellville finished as low medalist at sub-state with a score of 67. Jaceton Murray shot a 71 for RHS, while Brayden Bendall finished with a 77.

Lucas McNutt scored an 80, and he was followed by Carson Reeves’ score of 85.

Guntersville’s team was made up of Paul Bruce, Trey Moore, John Bruce, John Martin Doyle and Regan Lefeve.

The teams from UMS-Wright and Sylacauga also qualified for the AHSAA Class 5A State Tournament. Michael Rich (Southside), Blayne Armstrong (Hamilton), Nathaniel King (Citronelle) and Patrick Minor (Jasper) qualified as individuals.

“We feel like we’re playing probably the best golf as a team that we’ve played all year,” RHS coach Patrick Odom said. “I believe we have an opportunity; if we go play for two days the way that we’re capable of, hopefully some good things will happen. We’re really looking forward to it.”

The state tournament was scheduled to take place May 13-14 in Prattville on the Legislator Course at Robert Trent Jones Capitol Hill. The Golden Tigers will be making their fifth-straight appearance in the tournament.

RHS finished in second place last season in Class 5A, and the Golden Tigers won it all in 2015. This year’s tournament results were not yet available at press time.

Russellville’s girls team, coached by Monica and Chris Moon, played in the sub-state round at Silver Lakes Golf Course in Glencoe May 7. The RHS team was made up of Morgan Moon, Josie Willis, Alayna Fish and Ashlyn DeArman.

State qualifiers for the 4A-5A girls’ tournament in Prattville are the teams from Arab, Randolph, Northside and Trinity Presbyterian. Individuals who will also take part in the event are Caroline Webb (Demopolis), Robyn Blakey (Leeds), Hannah Dyar (White Plains) and Lauren Lawson (Fairview).