Ad Spot

Auburn University Tigers continue to College World Series

For the fifth time in school history and the first time since 1997, the Auburn Tigers are headed to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.

Russellville’s Judd Ward and Cody Greenhill are no strangers to winning championships, taking three baseball state titles during their time as Golden Tigers. Now they will be leading Auburn in the Tigers’ quest for their first national championship on the diamond.

Auburn took two of three games to win the series in the Chapel Hill Super Regional against the North Carolina Tar Heels to advance to Omaha. The Tigers were victorious in game one by an 11-7 score but fell in the second game 2-0. In an elimination contest June 10, Auburn took the decisive game three by a 14-7 final score.

Ward, hitless in the first two games of the series, came on strong when he was needed the most. From his lead-off spot in the batting order, the sophomore started a 13-run top of the first inning in the third game with a walk. The free pass was one of four straight to start the contest off of UNC starting pitcher Joey Lancellotti.

Ward scored Auburn’s first run after the fourth walk to start the game. At the end of the day, he had scored twice, walked once and was 3-for-5 with three RBIs – including a three-run home run high over the wall in right field – and was piling onto Greenhill with his teammates in celebration after the closer finished off the win.

Cody Greenhill entered the game in the eighth and pitched the final 1.2 innings. He threw 43 pitches, walked a batter and gave up a run on three hits.

Greenhill picked up his 12th save of the season in the game one win. He worked two innings in that contest and allowed two runs on three UNC hits.

Monday Auburn got contributions from top to bottom in the batting order.

Auburn (38-26) is one of eight teams that will participate in the College World Series. Four SEC squads will be in Omaha, with Arkansas, Mississippi State and Vanderbilt joining AU to make up half of the field.  Florida State, Louisville, Michigan and Texas Tech will also be competing for the title.