Ad Spot

Students claim collegiate achievements

From Northwest-Shoals to Itawamba, from Alabama to Auburn, Franklin County native students at nearby community colleges and universities have recently achieved educational successes.

FC natives graduate from pharmacy school

Auburn University’s James I. Harrison School of Pharmacy held its spring 2019 commencement ceremony May 6 at Auburn Arena, and one local student was among the graduates.

The class of 2019 included 147 students earning the Doctor of Pharmacy degree. One student earned a Master of Science degree, and 15 others earned Doctor of Philosophy degrees.

The ceremony included a commencement address from Dr. Stephen Davis, a member of the Class of 2008, while the student address was given by Gladys Tucker Heard. The Oath of a Pharmacist was administered by Class of 1983 member Pamela Boyd Reeve.

The class included representatives from four foreign countries – Bangladesh, China, Jordan and Saudi Arabia – and 15 states.

Among the pharmacy graduates were Russellville native Genesee Fernandez and Belgreen native Brandon McKay Hester.

A graduate of Russellville High School, Fernandez is the daughter of Fernando and Irma Fernandez. Previously she completed a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry from the University of North Alabama. Fernandez has accepted a full-time position with Walgreens Pharmacy, a company for which she has been working over the past seven and a half years.

A 2009 graduate of Belgreen High School, Hester is the son of Jack and Lei-anne Hester, husband to Megan Hester and father of Grady Hester. Previously, he completed a bachelor of science degree in biology from the University of North Alabama in 2013.

As the public pharmacy school of the state of Alabama, the Harrison School of Pharmacy continues educating more Alabama pharmacists than anywhere in the world, with 111 of the graduates hailing from the state.

ICC lists Vina native among degree-earners

One area resident was among those who earned Associate of Arts or Associate of Applied Science degrees or certificates at the conclusion of the 2019 spring semester at Itawamba Community College: Morgan L. Humphres, of Vina, who earned an Associate of Applied Science degree.

NW-SCC names three scholarship recipients

  • Joseph Daniel Hardy, of Phil Campbell, has received a Follett Scholarship from Northwest-Shoals Community College. While at NW-SCC, Hardy will pursue a degree in pre-engineering. He is the son of Danny and Miranda Hardy.
  • Luke Patrick, of Russellville, has received an Orben Gist Memorial Scholarship from NW-SCC. While at NW-SCC, Patrick will pursue a degree in automotive technology. Patrick is the son of Cassandra Rimmer Patrick.
  • Reyna  Wingo, of Phil Campbell, has received a Faculty and Staff Scholarship from NW-SCC. While at NW-SCC, Wingo will pursue a degree in nursing. Wingo is the daughter of Jane Wingo.

UA names Dean’s, President’s List students for spring 2019 term

A total of 11,406 students who were enrolled during the 2019 spring term at The University of Alabama were named to the Dean’s List, with an academic record of 3.5 or above, or the President’s List, with an academic record of 4.0 – including a number from Franklin County.

The UA dean’s and president’s lists recognize full-time undergraduate students. The lists do not apply to graduate students or to undergraduate students who take less than a full course load.

Among students making the President’s List are:

  • Noah Williams of Phil Campbell
  • Mary Markham of Red Bay
  • Hannah McRight of Red Bay
  • Rachel Balding of Russellville
  • Casey Brandenburg of Russellville
  • Lacey Wilson of Vina

Among students making the Dean’s List are:

  • Dillon Rackard of Phil Campbell
  • Michael Hodge of Russellville
  • Brock Malone of Russellville
  • Gracie Moore of Russellville
  • John Morgan of Russellville
  • Kaitlin Nolen of Russellville
  • Andres Vargas of Russellville
  • Holly Hardin of Vina

ICC names All-American Band

Members of the Itawamba Community College All-American Band for 2019-20 have been selected. They include two Red Bay alums: Ethan Ray and Maggie Bates.