Golden Tigers lead way on All-Region football team

Football coaches from Class 5A, Region 8, recently voted on the 2020 All-Region team, and area champion Russellville was well-represented.

The team consists of a first-team squad and honorable mentions from region opponents Russellville, East Limestone, Lawrence County, Ardmore, Lee-Huntsville and Brewer.

Mae Jemison did not send in nominations.

Special awards were announced for overall most valuable player, which went to senior running backs Caleb Mathews of Russellville and Kollin Swart of East Limestone, who tied for the award. Lineman MVP was a tie between Russellville’s Edgar Amaya and Tyler Moore of East.

Garrett Lee of Lawrence County was voted Skill MVP, and Syrus James of East Limestone was named MVP Kicker.

Russellville head coach John Ritter was named coach of the year for the region.

Russellville High School had the most players named to the list of any in the region. Joining Mathews and Amaya on the first team are WR TJ King, OL Will Calhoun, DL Angel Moreno, LB Brooks Scott, LB Cody Logan, LB Marcus Crumpton, DB Grayson Eady, DB Ashaad Williams, DB Caden Watts and ATH Conner Warhurst.

All but the sophomore duo of King and Warhurst were seniors on the 2020 Golden Tiger team that advanced to the quarterfinals of the AHSAA Class 5A playoffs.

Receiving honorable mentions from Russellville are RB Airreon “Boots” McCulloch, OL Grayson Murray, DB John David Bishop, DL Angel Martinez and LB Brody Logan. Bishop, Martinez and Logan are seniors, while McCulloch is a junior and Murray is a sophomore.