Ad Spot

Lauren Mae Sturdivant wins Russellville High pageant

Russellville High School senior Lauren Mae Sturdivant said she remembers coming to the Miss RHS Pageant as a kindergartner and dreaming of wearing the crown. Many years later, Sturdivant’s dream is a reality, as she was crowned this year’s Miss RHS at Friday night’s pageant.

“This is something I have been working for and looking forward to since I was in kindergarten and first came and actually watched the pageant,” Sturdivant said. “I am very excited and very thankful that they saw me fit.”

The Miss RHS Court included Shelby Carson, first alternate; Abigail Dodson, second alternate; Jodie Morrow, third alternate; Sophie Hill and Camille Lynn, 11th-grade representatives; Silvie Miller, 10th-grade representative; and Stella Hill and Peyton Parrish, 9th-grade representatives.

Other winners were:

  • Viewer’s Choice Award: Shelby Carson
  • Best Talent: freshman Stella Hill, sophomore Silvie Miller, juniors Sophie Hill and Camille Lynn and senior Lauren Mae Sturdivant
  • Best Evening Gown: freshman Chloe Sheffield, sophomore Silvie Miller, juniors Keslie Allen and Madeline Cooper and senior Lauren Mae Sturdivant
  • Best Interview: freshman Stella Hill, sophomore Silvie Miller, junior Sophie Hill and senior Lauren Mae Sturdivant
  • Most Photogenic: freshman Kaitlin Speck, sophomore Bailey Bishop, junior Madeline Cooper and senior Celia Echeverria
  • Academic Awards Highest GPA: freshman Stella Hill, sophomore Silvie Miller, junior Madeline Cooper and senior Celia Echeverria
  • Overall A Average Winners: Stella Hill, Caylin Pinkard, Peyton Parrish, Kaitlin Speck, and Chloe Sheffield, Bailey Bishop, Silvie Miller, Ashlee Moon, Madeline Cooper, Madyn Harris, Keslie Allen, Sophie Hill, Camille Lynn, Tori Tiffin, Shelby Carson, Abigail Dodson, Celia Echeverria, MaKayla Gann, Rosa Maravilla, Jodie Morrow, Brooke Putman and Lauren Mae Sturdivant

“The pageant was a huge success and entertaining for all who attended,” said Dr. AnnaKay Holland, sponsor of the RHS Tiger Track Annual Staff, which benefits from the pageant. Holland coordinates the pageant assisted by pageant director Cindy Coan.

“A pageant of this caliber could not be produced without the assistance of the hard-working annual staff students and faculty and staff volunteers,” Holland added. “The judges stated that RHS was certainly filled with talented and intelligent young women. A gentlemen in the audience that is associated with several state pageants told me after the pageant that Miss RHS was one of the most organized and exceptional pageants he had ever attended.”

Sturdivant said she has been involved in the Miss RHS Pageant since her freshman year and looks forward to serving the school through her title as Miss RHS.

“I get the chance to pour into future contestants and spend time with this pageant and promote it because I feel like it is so important that each girl comes and at least does it one time because it really helps you so much with confidence,” Sturdivant said. “This pageant means so much to me.”

Sturdivant received the crown from 2020 Miss RHS Sydney Medley.

As has become part of the Miss RHS tradition, each of the 25 contestants in the pageant selected two girls who are students in Russellville City Schools to assist in their performance: Rising Stars and Little Sisters.

This year’s Rising Stars, girls in kindergarten through fifth grade, were Brantley Benford, Kinsley Benford, Ava Bianco, Annalesa Bonds, Maci Reagan Boyd, Baylor Bradford, Layla Grace Cleveland, Tinley Cleveland, Bella Rae Entrekin, Brilynn Green, Ruby Gist Harbin, Lyza Shaw Herring, Hadley Kate Horton, Kennadie Keeton, Karlei Mitchell, Emme Odom, Mackie Drew Parker, Raylee Peden, Darby Pinkard, Kingzlee Poss, Lillain Grace Ritter, Alexa Nichole Trapp, Rita Maria Valesquez, Ivy Elizabeth Willis and Kaylee Wilson.

This year’s Little Sisters, girls in grades sixth through eighth, were Josie Burcham, Morgan Calderon, Camden Elizabeth Carson, Ella Colagraoss, Dixie Dover, Cara Elliot, Harlee Shyanne Fisher, Emmy Green, Keyli Hargett, Addison Holcomb, Anna Kate Hood, Maci Cate Jackson, Chloe James, Anna-Kate Kennedy, Jemma Moore, Audrey Oliver, Lily Cate Pace, Halyee Elizabeth Patrick, Gracie Kate Pinkard, Avery McReynolds, Hailey Rogers, Raney Stone, Ansley Kathryn Willis, Ellie Willis and Sarah Kate Wilson.

The proceeds from this event will benefit students by defraying their cost of the yearbook.