Ad Spot

Russellville soccer teams look to take next step

This season looks to be another promising one for the Russellville High School soccer program, led by head coach Trey Stanford.

The RHS boys are looking to take the next step and get the school’s first soccer state championship after finishing second in Class 4A-5A this past year. A huge crowd followed the team to Huntsville for the championship semi-finals and finals a season ago, and there are high hopes for this year’s squad.

“Our goal is the same as it was last year, and that’s to win the state title,” Stanford said. “First it’s going to be to win the area. If we can win the area, then we’ll take it one game at a time. If we can win one game at a time, I think we have all the potential in the world to win a state championship.”

Russellville returns many standouts this season, with Juan Cano, Orlando Jimenez, Vicente Machic, Yamilson Velasquez, Daniel Juan, Jonathan Salgado, Luis Sandoval, Elisiano Juan, Bernardo Ponce and Emanuel Villegas expected to start. Luis Salgado will be the goal keeper, replacing Daniel Martinez, who graduated.

The Russellville girls have senior goal keeper Jayna Poss back this year after the team had play-off success this past season. Associate head coach Fred Ambrosio is helping the program improve each year, and the girls are making gains. Ermalina Ponce, Yoseline Figueroa, Griselda Felix, Jessica Lugo, Katlyn James, Kathy Sanchez, Miriam Sanchez, Ashley Garcia, Hannah Figueroa and Nadia Mendez are listed as starters, along with Poss.



No. Name

1 Mario Jimenez

2 Martin Tomas

3 Elmer VillaLobos

4 Luis Sandoval

6 Emanuel Villegas

7 Juan Cano

8 Bernardo Ponce

10 Christian Merida

11 Jonathan Salgado

12 Antony Garcia

13 Erik Jacobo

15 Daniel Juan

17 Yamilson Velasquez

18 Addison Vicente

19 Orlando Jimenez

20 Raymond Espana

21 Elisiano Juan

22 Luis Salgado

29 Manny Martinez

30 Vicente Machic


No. Name

3 Ermalina Ponce

4 Yoseline Ramos

5 Jayna Poss

6 Griselda Felix

7 Yoseline Figueroa

8 Hannah Figueroa

9 Ashley Perez

10 Katlyn James

11 Mariela Juan

13 Ashley Garcia

14 Melanie Trejo

17 Miriam Sanchez

18 Catalina Mateo

24 Jessica Lugo

26 Maria Francisco

29 Gloria Sop

30 Nadia Mendez

31 Kathy Sanchez

Franklin County

Maj. William Russell: City owes its name to pioneer settler


Expect closures for U.S. 43 at Walmart 

Franklin County

RCS, FCS offer seamless summer meal programs


Belgreen FFCLA hosts basketball tournament to help hunger

Franklin County

Phi Theta Kappa inducts honorees from Franklin County at NEMCC


Congratulations to the Class of 2023!


PHOTOS: West Elementary enjoys color run


Strawberry farm offers u-pick fun


PHOTOS: RHS Class of 2023 seniors graduate


PHOTOS: Tharptown, Phil Campbell, Belgreen, Vina, Red Bay seniors graduate

Franklin County

Charles Parrish: Superintendent’s love for school system sees stadium named in his honor

High School Sports

Kiel helps obtain funds for TES bleachers 


Area residents among those on ICC honors lists

Franklin County

FC chooses new assistant county engineer 


Red Bay’s Weatherford Library gears up for summer reading program


NW-SCC students to showcase their art at Tennessee Valley Museum of Art

Franklin County

Tharptown High School rocketry team blasts into second place in nation


Vina High School holds Spring Spectacular 


RES fifth grade chorus presents “RES Goes Country” 


Addie’s Flip Tip and Tap holds 18th annual dance recital

Franklin County

Chucky Mullins: Football legend makes lasting impact

Franklin County

ACA awards foundation scholarship

Franklin County

FCS provides Seamless Summer meal programs

Franklin County

Commission announces voting location changes