Ad Spot

School News: Area students mark college achievements

Wallace State recognizes 690 students named to president’s and dean’s lists

Wallace State Community College congratulates the 690 outstanding students named to the president’s list and dean’s list for the spring 2022 semester.

To earn a spot on the president’s list, students must maintain a perfect 4.0 grade point average for the semester while taking a course load of 12 or more hours. Russellville’s Ashley Berryman made the president’s list.

Placement on the dean’s list is awarded to students maintaining a 3.5 grade point average or higher while taking a course load of at least 12 hours. Russellville’s Ellie Akers and Cole Barnett made the dean’s list.

Wallace State Honors Ceremony includes four from county

More than 300 outstanding Wallace State Community College students were recognized for their achievements, including four from Franklin County.

“This is one of our favorite events as we get to celebrate the successes of our students by showcasing their accomplishments,” said Kristen Holmes, interim vice president for students. “Our students are so talented and deserving of so many accolades. This afternoon is truly a special time to showcase these.”

Among those who were honored were Wesley Donaldson of Phil Campbell for his 4.0 grade point average; Melissa Hernandez-Jimenez of Russellville for her Club and Organization Recognition – dental hygiene; Ashley Berryman of Russellville for her transfer scholarship to Athens State; Ellie Akers of Russellville for Who’s Who.

Area residents earn scholarships to Wallace State Community College

Wallace State Community College awarded scholarships totaling more than $2.6 million to more than 380 students based on academic achievement as well as performing arts and athletic abilities. Scholarships were presented to two local students for the 2022-2023 academic year: Fallin Cox of Russellville, in applied technology, and Alexis Taylor of Russellville, in allied health.

Local student joins Omicron Delta Kappa

William Weatherford, a native of Red Bay, was recently initiated into the Samford University Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society. The Society welcomed 1,971 new initiates from 78 universities during April 2022.

Omicron Delta Kappa Society, the National Leadership Honor Society, was founded in Lexington, Virginia, on December 3, 1914. A group of 15 students and faculty members established the Society to recognize and encourage leadership at the collegiate level.

Students initiated into the Society must be sophomores, juniors, seniors or graduate/professional students in the top 35 percent of their class, demonstrate leadership experience in at least one of the five pillars and embrace the ODK ideals. Fewer than 5 percent of students on a campus are invited to join each year.

The founders established the ODK Idea – the concept that individuals representing all phases of collegiate life should collaborate with faculty and others to support the campus and community. ODK’s mission is to honor and develop leaders; encourage collaboration among students, faculty, staff, and alumni; and promote ODK’s leadership values of collaboration, inclusivity, integrity, scholarship and service on college and university campuses throughout North America.

ICC names top scholars

Officials at Itawamba Community College have released the honors list for the 2022 spring semester.

Locals named to the president’s list, which includes those students with a 3.8 to 4.0 grade point average, were Bailey M. Bolton, Shelby Grace Stidham and Alexis Tabbs of Red Bay; Ansley N. Tate of Russellville; and Ashlynn Sarabeth Elrod and Dylan A. Hester of Vina.

Local dean’s list scholars with a grade point average between 3.5 and 3.79 included Courtney B. Todd of Spruce Pine and Kylee Lizette James of Vina.

Local graduates from Troy University

Jose Domingo Lopez of Russellville graduated from Troy University during the spring semester of the 2021-2022 academic year. Domingo Lopez graduated with an undergraduate degree after taking classes at the Troy campus.