Ad Spot

EMCC to salute first inductees

By By Jeff Byrd/The Meridian Star
Oct. 19, 2001
Citing a need to honor its rich athletic tradition, East Mississippi Community College will present its first group of Hall of Famers on Saturday during homecoming festivities at the Scooba campus.
The 20 inductees will be the first to be honored by EMCC since the Sports Hall of Fame was established this year. The induction ceremony will begin at 11 a.m. at the Stennis Hall Auditorium.
At 2 p.m., the Lions will take on Holmes Community College in football action at Windham-Sullivan Field. The inductees will be introduced at halftime.
East Mississippi President Tommy Davis said the school is excited to finally have a way in honoring former athletes who not only starred at the school, but have gone on to extraordinary accomplishments in their chosen fields.
Dr. Ed Davis, the chief administrative officer for the Scooba campus, is a member of the committee and says the process to create a Hall of Fame was trying but well worth it.
The first class includes the late Robert "Bull" Sullivan, who helped establish the great tradition of East Mississippi football. Sullivan coached from 1950-52 and again from 1956-69. He designed the four stars on the Lions football uniform. A fifth star was added to honor him. The Lions' current football stadium is also named for him.
The other deceased honoree is former EMCC Athletic Director Keyes Currie. The Lions' coliseum is named in his honor.
The list of living inductees includes current West Lauderdale head baseball and softball coach Jerry Boatner. Boatner has led the Knights and Lady Knights to a combined 12 state championships.
Other inductees include: Fred Adams, currently the CEO of Cal-Maine Foods, Inc.; Randall Bradberry, a former head football coach for 12 years; and Jesse Brown, currently the employment co-ordinator for the Mississippi Department of Human Services.
Bill Buckner, a former head football coach, is another inductee. He is currently the regional director of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. Current Pearl River Community College men's basketball coach Richard Mathis is also being inducted.
Other honorees include: Betty Spears-Boyette, Roger Duncan, Don Edwards, Ikie Ethridge, Henry Faulkner, Jack Manley, Clyde "Baby Doll" Pierce, Gerald Poole, Malcolm Robinson, Thomas Scarborough, Warren "Oop" Swoope and James "Sparky" Walker.
Jeff Byrd is a sports writer for the Meridian Star. He can be reached at 693-1551 or by e-mail at