Ad Spot

Phi Theta Kappa's chapter at ECCC adds new members

By Staff
Special to The Star
Feb. 6, 2002
DECATUR Students with high grades at East Central Community College were recently tapped for membership in Theta Xi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges.
Eighty-four students with at least a 3.5 grade point were welcomed into the prestigious organization at its spring induction ceremony in Huff Auditorium on the Decatur campus.
An honorary membership was presented to alumnus Glen Hansford, formerly of Decatur, employed at the Phi Theta Kappa International headquarters in Jackson.
Also receiving special recognition was former Theta Xi chapter adviser and longtime ECCC librarian Ann Burkes of Decatur, who was presented the Shelby Harris Alumni Award.
Burkes retired last year after 32 years of service at East Central.
The new Theta Xi members include Jana Adkins, Monica Allen, Rebecca Edgar, Timothy Lyon and Leslie Vance, all of Union; Jacob Alexander, Charlene Foreman and Carisa Regan, all of Little Rock; and Kimberly Alford, John Freeny, Andrew Henry, Marisa Henry, Christen Herrington, Joshua Jenkins, Bobby Martin, Paul McCaughn, Megan Morrison, Natasha Phillips, Amy Rawson, Kristi Smith, Kimberly Stone and Rusty Vowell, all of Carthage.
Also inducted were Mary Alford, Joshua Cooper, Lance Hall, Erica Hall, Brett Hollingsworth, April Jones, Adam Wall, Donna Wedgeworth and Shance Young, all of Forest; Jonathan Bates, Janice McCullough and Gary Wyatt, all of Morton; and Kara Beasley, Heather Brantley, Victoria Daniels, Timothy Fieber, Melody Griffin, Adrienne Holmes, Mary Margaret Irons, Elizabeth Johnson, William Mars, April McAdory and Carrie Shrock, all of Philadelphia.
Other new members are Joe Breedlove, Sebastopol; David Burt, Ashley Jones, Kristin Rice and Natalie Tune, all of Newton; Kelly Carlisle, Ethel; James Cowart, Star; Odena Cox and Jessica Nester, both of Lake; Natalie Duncan and Mary Latham, both of Walnut Grove; Jason Eaves, Joseph Harsh, Rebecca Herrington, Kayla Jernigan, Adam McAdory, James Robinson, Katy Thompson and Charles Wood, all of Louisville; Jaclyn Evans, Bay Springs; and Kristen Gardner, Bethany Garrison, Jason Guraedy, Jessica McDaniel, Nathan Stamper and Roy Walters, all of Decatur.
Others inducted were Jennifer Gibson, Tiffany Jones and Aimee McLaurin, all of Pulaski; Ricky Graves, Jimmy Hall and Randolph King, all of Lena; Kristen Persons, Noxapater; Karen Robinson, Meridian; Sarah Shaffer, Conehatta; Lindsay Shaw, Perkinston; Stephen Sykes, Lawrence; Damien Wash, Hickory; and William Weaver, Preston.