Ad Spot

Boys and Girls Club announces awards

By Staff
Special to The Star
May 25, 2002
Thirty-eight members have received awards at the Boys and Girls Clubs of East Mississippi.
Six categories and three age groups were included: Student of the Month, Most Devoted Club Member, Most Improved, Outstanding Student, Good Citizenship and Youth of the Year.
Each year the Boys and Girls Club honors several club members for their dedication and work. The winners are chosen by their group leaders and honored annually.
The winners were:
Youth of the Year: Jahaid Griffin, Kasey Young, Tobreshia Horn, Roderick Steele, Mary Nobles, Amber James, Kimberly Ford, Muraad Ahmed and Jonathan Sipp.
Student of the Month: Jade Shadwick, Luke Davis, Jasmine Steele, Shakari Stribliing, Quintin Sims and Jacobie Jones.
Most Improved: Makayla Christian, Artoria Silliman, Aaron Boyd, Jaquarion Toole, Shoshanah Johnson, Vanita Gordon, Cortez Harris and Sherron Hill.
Citizenship Award: Brycelin Armstrong, Jerrica Culpepper, Sam Nobles, Derrick Plumber and Jericus Sims.
Most Devoted Club Members: Tevin Culpepper and Brandie Culpepper.
Outstanding Students: Adriene Dunbar, Yasmine Hampton, Erin Plummer, Ebonne Plummer, Shae Stribling, Synteshia Tripplett, Patricia Smith and Tonya Weir.
The Boys and Girls Clubs of East Mississippi is a nonprofit organization with a mission to inspire and enable all young people, especially those from disadvantaged circumstances, to realize their full potential as productive, responsible and caring citizens.