Ad Spot

Warriors take on champs in opener

By By Marty Stamper / EMG sports assistant
Sept. 4, 2003
DECATUR It won't take the East Central Community College Warriors long to see how they'll stack up against fellow MACJC members when they open their 2003 football season against defending state champion Holmes tonight in Goodman. Kickoff is set for 7 p.m.
ECCC has 36 freshmen and 19 sophomores.
Holmes finished 9-2 in 2002, while ECCC wound up 3-6.
The bad news is that Holmes led the MACJC in defense in 2002. The good news is that only four sophomores are back from that defense and only one of those is a returning starter. Two of the four are defensive ends Brandon York (6-3, 240) and Rubio Phillips (6-2, 240). Other returnees starting are cornerback Andy Brown (5-11, 180) and free safety Michael Taylor (6-1, 190).
Among the freshmen defensive starters is cornerback Kevin Moore (5-11, 175) from Meridian.
ECCC will start freshman Terrell Robinson (6-2, 190) of Palatka, Fla., at quarterback. He will be joined in the backfield by sophomore fullback Germaine Smith (5-9, 225) of Newton County. Alternating at tailback are freshmen Darryl Mapp (5-7, 190) of Newton County and Kenshay Hunter (5-10, 180) of Philadelphia.
Sharing duties at wide receiver are sophomores Van Wilson (6-1, 190) of West Lauderdale, Bobby Lindsey (6-1, 175) of Newton, and Titus Ryan (6-2, 190) of Tuscaloosa (Ala.) County. Ryan will also see action at tailback.
Freshman Mitch Myers (5-8, 160) of McLaurin will handle kicking duties and either Myers or freshman Chris Huff (5-11, 200) of Forest will be the punter.
Defensively, sophomore Nick Frazier (5-10, 175) of Louisville will start at free safety. Cornerbacks are Leron Yarbrough (6-0, 170), a sophomore from Louisville and freshman Tony Searight (5-11, 165) of D'Iberville. Freshmen Derrell Ashford (5-10, 190) of Louisville and Cedric Love (5-8, 170) of Philadelphia are also expected to see time at cornerback.
Starting linebackers are sophomore Marcus Cleveland (6-0, 230) of Morton and freshmen Sed Eichelberger (5-11, 220) of Noxapater and Kelvin Horne (6-0, 215) of Northeast Lauderdale. Others expected to see action at linebacker are freshmen Justin Ficklin (5-10, 210) and Lee Fairchilds (5-10, 200), both of Morton, and Jay McMillin (5-11, 185) of Winston Academy.
Starters at defensive end are sophomore Willie Johnson (6-2, 290) of Oconee County High School in Athens, Ga., and freshman Mantrell Ashford (6-2, 220) of Louisville. Sophomore J.E. Haynes (6-0, 238) of Noxapater will also see time at defensive end.
Starting at defensive tackle are freshmen Michael Johnson (5-7, 240) of Newton County and Henry Smith (6-3, 210) of Aliceville. Sophomore Corey Hayes (5-11, 320) of Forest will start at nose guard.
The game can be heard on WZKR-FM (103.3).