Ad Spot

FCS board OKs budget

The Franklin County Board of Education held a meeting and budget hearing Sept. 14. at 5 p.m. Superintendent Greg Hamilton gave his report, and the board approved the budget for fiscal year 2022.

For fiscal year Oct. 1, 2021, through Sept. 30, 2022, the FCS budget is $42,549,547.16.

The board also:

Approved the Teacher Excellence and Accountability for Mathematics and Science preliminary contract for Lucas Gilbert.

Approved physical therapy agreement with Dr. Jenny L. McCullar for the 2021-2022 school year.

Approved contract for speech and language therapy services with Ana Knight.

Approved contract for speech and language therapy services with Ashley Crosby.

Approved agreement between Franklin County Board of Education and ARC of Franklin County Sarah Dinsmore Center furnishing food service.

Approved discontinuing the third Career Tech school bus midday route from Tharptown High School. This change took effect at the beginning of school, fall 2021.

Approved mandatory mask mandate for 10 instructional days, on a school-by-school basis, if total absences of the student body reach 15 percent because of COVID-19, influenza or other infectious outbreaks, if recommended by the superintendent.

Approved the following resignations: Josie Dugan, Mary Gonzalez, Allie Harris, Christopher Judd Franks, Lillian Torres, Darby Lindsey, Savannah Latham and Walker Kennerly.

Approved a leave of absence for Angie Bolton, Teacher – Vina High School – medical leave for 2021-2022 school year.

Approved the retirement of Laurin Schultz, EL instructional aide at Belgreen High School, Phil Campbell High School and Phil Campbell Elementary School, effective Nov. 1.

Approved the transfer of Traci Nolen from access facilitator aide at Tharptown High School to intervention aide at Tharptown High School.

The board also approved the following new hires:

Kim Coker as part-time special education teacher at Tharptown High School.

Dana Brewer, as kindergarten teacher at East Franklin Junior High School.

Jenny Ergle as an elementary teacher at East Franklin Junior High School.

Lori McDonnell as computer lab aide at Belgreen High School.

Shonea Engelthaler as special education teacher at Tharptown High School.

Rachel Doss as Child Nutrition Program assistant at Phil Campbell School.

Drenda Holland as Child Nutrition Program assistant at Belgreen High School.

Byron Gann as special education aide at Phil Campbell High School.

Jessica Kennerly as special education aide at Belgreen High School.

Robert Langley as bus driver for Franklin County Schools.

Brooke Williams as junior high girls basketball coach at Belgreen High School.

The next board meeting, an organizational meeting, will be Nov. 16 with the work session at 5 p.m.

Franklin County

Fall brings Pumpkin Palooza, NW-SCC trunk-or-treat event

Franklin County

Hodges festival promises food, fun, fireworks

Franklin County

Distinguished Through the Decades: 2008, Paige Palmer Thorne

Franklin County

Commission passes budget, shows support for two state amendments


PHOTOS: Russellville Homecoming Court

Franklin County

PHOTOS: Tharptown Homecoming Court

Franklin County

NW-SCC public relations wins seven statewide awards

Franklin County

Phil Campbell City Council fills vacant seat


Taste of Franklin: Flavors of fall


Red Bay celebrates Founders Day with plenty of entertainment for all

Franklin County

FCS bus driver faces arrest, termination

Franklin County

County seeks responses to broadband survey

Franklin County

NW-SCC reports highest fall enrollment since 2010 


View from Crescent Moon Acres: How one New Jersey woman found her dream life in Phil Campbell

Franklin County

Franklin County 4-H rabbit project participants bring home awards


ADEM approves $348M for water, sewer projects

Franklin County

Extension warns: Harvest time means taking extra safety precautions


City approves line-of-credit bid from VSB for equipment purchases


Russellville Electric Board elects officers


RHS Marching Hundred hosts Northwest Alabama Classic


RCS BOE approves budget for FY-2023

Franklin County

FCS BOE passes budget


Red Bay plans annual Founders Day festival Sept. 24


Distinguished Through the Decades: 2007, Lydia Hammock Freeman