Red Bay comes back to win championship game by two

The Red Bay Tigers overcame a major scoring drought in the second quarter to come back and beat Phil Campbell 43-41, winning the Franklin County Tournament title.

Red Bay led 12-6 at the end of the first quarter but didn’t score a single point in the second quarter. Phil Campbell took a 23-12 lead into halftime.

The Tigers, however, found their scoring touch in the third quarter, outpacing Phil Campbell 21-12 to cut the Bobcat lead to 35-33 at the end of the third quarter.

The Tigers reclaimed their early lead with 26 seconds to go in the game, 41-39. Phil Campbell’s Hayden Wingo hit a turnaround jumper in the lane to tie the game 41-41 with 12 seconds remaining in the game.

Phil Campbell fouled Red Bay’s Jaxson Vinson with five seconds to go in the game, and he calmly sank both free throws to give the Tigers the win.

Brayden Tabbs and Jeremiah Thorne led Red Bay, scoring 16 points and 14 points respectively. Tabbs scored 12 of his points in the second half; Thorne scored eight in the third quarter.

Vinson added eight points for the Tigers, while Landyn Lewey had three points, and Cam Woodruff got two points.

Jacob Barnwell led Phil Campbell with 12 points. Logan Wright followed with 10 points. Wingo added nine points, Trace Duboise five points and Braxton Mayfield three points.

SEMIFINALS: Phil Campbell 55, Belgreen 23

The Phil Campbell Bobcats advanced to the finals of the Franklin County Tournament with a 55-23 win over the Belgreen Bulldogs.

Phil Campbell took control of the game early, taking a 20-4 lead in the first quarter. Barnwell led the way with 12 first-quarter points. The Bobcats increased their lead to 31-8 at halftime and extended the lead to 47-19 by the end of the third quarter.

Barnwell led the Bobcats with 25 points. Wright and Wingo added 10 points each.

They were followed by Duboise with five points, Isac Hill with three points and Cohl Welborn with two points.

Miguel Willingham led Belgreen with 13 points. Gabe Estrada and Aaron Rubido scored three points each. Miguel Cruz Estrada and Ben Wilkins added two points each.